
Adult Protective 
Services in 

North Carolina

Our Mission is to Keep 
North Carolina’s Most 
Vulnerable Adults Safe 
from Abuse, Neglect 

and Exploitation

Adult Protective Services 
Activities Include:

•  Making a face-to-face, unannounced 
visit to the adult with a disability

•  Evaluating the need for  
protective services

• W orking with the adult, family, and multi-
disciplinary providers to secure needed 
essential services for the adult such as 
food, safe housing or medical care

•  Planning with and supporting the 
disabled or elderly adult and the 
family or caregiver to identify, remedy 
and prevent problems that result in 
abuse, neglect or exploitation 

•  Reporting evidence of mistreatment 
to the District Attorney and regulatory 
agencies; court action is initiated 
as necessary to protect the adult 
with a disability

For more information about protecting 
older adults and adults with disabilities 
from abuse, neglect and exploitation, 

please contact your County Department 
of Social Services or contact the

NC Division of Aging and Adult Services 
2101 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-2101

Phone 919-855-3400

Fax 919-715-0023

www.ncdhhs.gov/

For access to other services and 
supports in your community, 
contact No Wrong Door at 

1-888-892-1162 or dial 2-1-1 or visit 
www.nc211.org/current-initiatives

www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/daas  •  NCDHHS is an equal 
opportunity employer and provider.  •  5/2021
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OUR MISSION IS TO KEEP NORTH CAROLINA’S MOST VULNERABLE ADULTS SAFE FROM ABUSE, NEGLECT AND EXPLOITATION

Who is Abused, Neglected, and 
Exploited in North Carolina?

•  In State Fiscal Year 2019-2020, 30,779 
reports alleging the abuse, neglect or 
exploitation of our most vulnerable 
adults were received by County 
Departments of Social Services 

•  A Snapshot of who is receiving

Adult Protective Services:
•  76 percent were 60 years of age or older 

•  83 percent lived alone or with family

•  The most common form of mistreatment 
was neglect; 88 percent of the cases 
involved neglect while 64 percent 
involved self-neglect

•  The most frequently named perpetrator 
was an adult child, followed by a spouse, 
other relative or non-relative caretaker

•  The most frequently identified services 
needed to address the problems of abuse, 
neglect and exploitation are Medical 
or Health Care, In-Home Aide Services, 
Placement, and Financial Assistance

What is the Law?
County Departments of Social Services 
receive and evaluate reports of abuse, neglect 
and exploitation to determine whether older 
adults and adults with disabilities are in 
need of protective services and what services 
are needed, as required by NC General 
Statute 108A, Article 6

Is This Happening to you 
or Someone you Know?

•  Bruises, burns, cuts, scratches

•  Sprains, fractures, dislocations, malnutrition

•  Untreated medical condition(s)

•  Unsafe or unsanitary housing

•  Lack of medications, hearing aids, glasses 
or dentures

•  Mental anguish and distress

•  Mistrust toward others

•  Unpaid utility and other bills

•  Mismanaged property or savings

•  Sudden change in will or power of attorney

•  Unable to provide needed care

When I Suspect Mistreatment 
What Should I do?

•  When you suspect mistreatment of an 
older adult or an adult with a disability, 
NC law requires you to contact Adult 
Protective Services at the Department 
of Social Services (DSS) in the county 
where the adult is living.

  Contact information for County DSSs 
can be found at: https://www.ncdhhs.
gov/divisions/dss/local-county-social-
services-offices

•  When you call Adult Protective Services, 
your name is kept confidential unless 
a court of law orders disclosure

•  Give as much information as you know 
about the adult and any concerns with 
his/her mental or physical health, and 
the circumstances of abuse, neglect 
or exploitation  

•  Our responsibility is to determine if 
the adult needs protection and to provide 
protection when legally authorized

•  The DSS is required to:

  –   Take the report from you

  –   Assure confidentiality

  –   Explain what happens once your 
report is taken
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