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[bookmark: _GoBack]REVISED 12/1/2019 – CHANGE NO. 15-19


I. INTRODUCTION TO CAP

	Community Alternatives Program (CAP) is a 1915(c) home and community- based Services Waiver under the Social Security Act. The Waiver allows North Carolina Medicaid funds to be used to provide home and community-based services to Medicaid beneficiaries. These services provide both medical and non-medical home and community-based services to prevent or delay institutionalization.	Comment by Moore, Sharon D: 	Comment by Moore, Sharon D: 

II.	CAP SERVICES ARE OFFERED IN THE FOLLOWING CATEGORIES:

A. CAP for Disabled Adults (CAP/DA)

A North Carolina home and community-based services waiver program provingproviding services and supports in the home and community to disabled, blind and aged adults as an alternative to nursing home placement.

CAP/DA provides community-based services to individuals who:

1. Are age 18 years and over;

2. Are aged, (65 years and over);


3. Are determined to require an ICF (Intermediate Care Facility) or SNF (Skilled Nursing Care) level of care under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan;

4. Are determined to need CAP services based on a reasonable indication of need and assessment as determined by the CAP case management entity;Need Intermediate Care Facility (ICF) or Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF) level of care;

5. Live in a private residence; and	Comment by Christine Coffey: This includes SA in-home and in a facility, correct?  IF so, can it be added?

6. Have been determined to be disabled by Disability Determination Services (DDS) or the Social Security Administration (SSA);.

B.   CAP Consumer Direction (CAP/CD)

[bookmark: _Hlk24962187]A service delivery option of the Community Alternatives Program that allows a beneficiary to have choice and control over the services and supports received, by allowing the beneficiary the option to direct care.

CAP/CD provides community-based services to individuals who:

1.	Are age 18 years and over;

2.	Are aged (65 years and over);


3.		Are determined to require a specific level of care under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan;

4.	Are determined to need CAP services based on a reasonable indication of need and assessment as determined by the CAP case management entity;

2.	5.	Live in a private residence;
	
6.	Have been determined to be disabled by the Disability Determination Services (DDS) or the Social Security Administration (SSA) and

7.	Are able and willing to accept the role and responsibilities to hire individuals and to direct the employee to provide the personal care services to the CAP beneficiary.

	3.	Have been determined to be disabled by the Social Security Administration (SSA).
		
CAP/CD beneficiaries may hire Personal Care Assistants (PCA) to provide personal care
services.  These Personal Care Assistants do not require a licensure or certification and are included in the Service Plan/Plan of Care (POC).	Comment by Christine Coffey: The services provided by this PCA are listed in the POC?  Is that what we are saying?	Comment by Christine Coffey: Can POC be defined and guidance as to how county is notified of POC effective date?  
based on the following criteria but are not limited to:							
1. Must be 18 years of age or older;

2. 	Be a relative or individual who is not acting as the legal guardian 				or legal representative of the beneficiary;

3. Be absent of history of abuse, neglect, exploitation, and violent crimes against a child or vulnerable adult;
			 
4. Be absent of substantiated allegation of abuse, neglect or exploitation listed with the N.C. Health Care Registry; 

5. Be absent of any substantiated allegation listed with the NC Health Care Registry that would prohibit an individual from working in the health care field in the state of NC; and 
	
6. Meet other reasonable requirements as specified by the beneficiary. 

The financial manager (CAP Lead Agency) shall be responsible for background checks. 

C.	CAP for Children (CAP/C)

[bookmark: _Hlk24962295]A North Carolina home and community-based services waiver program.  This waiver provides providing services and supports in the home and community to medically fragile children as an alternative to nursing hometo an institutional placement.

CAP/C provides community-based services to individuals who: 

[bookmark: _Hlk24962571]1.	Are under the age 21; 

2.		Need Nursing Facility (NF) or hospital level of careAre determined to require a specific level of care under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan; 

3.   Are determined to need CAP services based on a reasonable indication of need and assessment as determined by the CAP case management entity;

4.3.	Live in a private residence and

54.   Have been determined to be disabled by Disability Determination Services (DDS) or the Social Security Administration (SSA)..

[bookmark: _Hlk24962622]Exception:  MAF, (IV-E) Foster Care and Adoption and State Foster Care beneficiaries do not require a disability determination.

III.	REQUESTING CAP SERVICES

	To receive CAP services an applicant/beneficiary (a/b) must meet the Medicaid eligibility 	requirements in one of the following programs:

· [bookmark: _Hlk24962667]MAABD (Medicaid for the Aged, Blind and Disabled)
· MAF (IV-E Foster Care and Adoption and State Foster Care)

· HCWD (Health Coverage for Workers with Disabilities)
	An individual requesting CAP services without a referral must be referred to the CAP 	

A.  The a/b When the a/b requests CAP services..:

1. Individual is currently not a Medicaid beneficiary
a. A Medicaid application must be submitted.
b. Evaluate for Medicaid eligibility in appropriate Medicaid programs.

2. Individual is currently a Medicaid beneficiary
a. Process as a change in situation.	Comment by Fields, Patricia G: I would define how long the county as to process the change in situation. 


b. Evaluate for Medicaid eligibility in appropriate Medicaid programs.

c. If the a/b had a deductible, recalculate the deductible for months in the certification period prior to the CAP authorization.

d. Multiply the monthly private living arrangement (PLA) deductible by the number of months in the certification period prior to CAP eligibility to calculate the new deductible amount.	Comment by Fields, Patricia G: I would give an example. 


e. The new deductible amount may change the authorization date of Medicaid eligibility.
f. Any excess expenses previously submitted may be used towards the CAP monthly deductible.

There is no retroactive coverage for CAP services; however, there is retroactive coverage for Medicaid services if eligibility requirements are met in the retroactive period.

B.  Individuals requesting CAP services must have a CAP assessment to determine the need for services relevant to the appropriate CAP program.

C.  Upon completion of the CAP assessment the local agency will receive the following:
[bookmark: _Hlk24962884]
For Approvals:

1. The DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status and, 

2. Approved Service Request Form (SRF) and

3. The Service Plan, which includes The Plan of Care Summary (POC) or,

For Denials:

1.	The DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status and


2.	The Notice of Denial of CAP participation.  

D.  When Medicaid eligibility can be established regardless of CAP eligibility:

1. Do not wait for CAP approval; and

2. Authorize, if appropriate, as for any other application/change in situation.  Follow the basic income rules section, MA-2260, Financial Eligibility Requirements-PLA.

E.  When Medicaid eligibility cannot be established without CAP eligibility:

1. Verify the status of the Service Plan/Plan of Care POC with the CAP case manager, and

2. Deny the application if the decision for CAP participation DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status, is not received by the 45/90th calendar day.	Comment by Christine Coffey: The 2193 ?
[bookmark: _Hlk528067193]
IV.	BUDGETING

	Upon When receipt of the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status, the SRF is approved; apply CAP budgeting applies the month of the CAP Effective Date budgeting the first month that CAP is effective.

A. Follow the basic income rules section, MA-2260, Financial Eligibility Requirements-PLA.

For keying instructions refer to NC FAST Job Aid: Community Alternatives Program (CAP), Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) & Innovations	Comment by Christine Coffey: Is this reference appropriate here?  If no CAP approval has been given it would seem MAABD/MAGI PLA is determined with No cap evidence needed.

In addition to the basic income rules the following apply to CAP.

1. There is no spouse-for-spouse or parent-for-child financial responsibility (income limit of one).

2. Only the income of the a/b is used in determining financial eligibility, beginning the month of CAP approval.

3.	The one-third reduction budgeting does not apply to a Supplemental Security Income (SSI) beneficiary.	

B. Follow the basic resource rules section, MA-2260, Financial Eligibility Requirements-PLA.

	In addition to the basic resource rules, the following apply to CAP:

1. Evaluate all assets of a married a/b living with their spouse (jointly or individually owned) when one spouse is a CAP beneficiary;	Comment by Christine Coffey: beneficiary

2. Compare available resource amount to the resource limit of one; and

3. Evaluate spousal resource protection (if applicable).

C.	Transfer of Assets
To determine if any transfers have occurred the local agency must explore all assets on all applications, redeterminations, and change in situations for applicants/beneficiaries requesting or receiving institutional services or in-home health services. Evaluate the evidence presented by the applicant(s), spouse or the applicant’s representative concerning any asset transferred. The evidence may establish the transfer occurred for a reason other than to establish or retain Medicaid eligibility. Follow the rules in section, To determine if any transfers have occurred the local agency must explore all assets on all applications, redeterminations, and change in situations for applicants requesting or receiving institutional services or in-home health services. Evaluate the evidence presented by the applicant(s) or the applicant’s representative concerning any asset transferred. The evidence may have been established for another reason for the transfer other than to establish or retain Medicaid eligibility.  Follow the rules in section MA-2240, Transfer of Assets.

V.	DEDUCTIBLE

A.  Follow procedures in MA-2360, Medicaid Deductible.

B.  In addition to the basic deductible rules the following apply to CAP.

1. All CAP deductibles are calculated monthly.

2. CAP (Medically Needy) certification periods are 6 months.

3.	Expenses listed on the Plan ofthe Service Plan/Plan of Care Care are allowed in addition to other allowable Medicaid expenses. Items that are listed directly on the Service Plan/Plan of Care may be waiver and non-waiver services and/or supplies. The CAP case manager may need to verify if these services or supplies are “medically necessary” and prescribed by a physician. Other items may be listed in the service plan that specifically describe how that item will be used to maintain the community placement due to the disability. Follow rules in section, MA-2360, Medicaid Deductible for Allowable Expenses. .	Comment by Christine Coffey: Does this mean “medically necessary” must be asked about prior to being allowed toward deductible?  IN the past, if in the POC the expense was assumed to be medically necessary and allowed toward deductible.

For CAP deductible beneficiaries, apply allowable medical expenses toward the monthly deductible. Cost of Care cannot be applied prior to the effective date of the Service Plan/Plan of Care date.

For keying instructions refer to NC FAST Job Aid: Managing Spend Down Evidence.


VI.	CAP PARTICIPATION

The CAP effective date is the latest of the following:

A. The date of the Medicaid application;

B. The approval date of the SRF; orCAP Effective Date on the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status;	Comment by Christine Coffey: Is this also the POC date? Does this memo replace the FL2?

C. The date of de-institutionalization; or.

D.  The effective date stated in a state court resolution or a court order.	

VII.	RECERTIFICATION

[bookmark: _Hlk22124980]All recertifications must be completed as ex-parte by first using electronic data sources and available agency records to determine continued eligibility. The local agency will receive a  the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status and Service Plan/POC Summary from the CAP case management entity.	Comment by Christine Coffey: There is nothing on the 2193 to indicate a recert…is this different then the CNR?

1.	The caseworker is required to: 

a. Conduct all electronic matches, including Online Verification System (OVS); 

b. Check other available records; and

c. Contact the beneficiary only when continuing eligibility cannot be determined by the available information.

 2.		Continued Need Review  

The CAP case management entity will complete a Continued Need Review (A CNR) assessment must be completed every 12 consecutiveannually months to determine the continued need for CAP services based on medical, functional, and psychosocial care needs of the beneficiary for safe community living.		Comment by Patterson, Shanna [2]: The purpose and description of the CNR has been re-written and is outlined here.	Comment by Christine Coffey: Does the caseworker need a copy of this to recertify? Or is this on the 2193?	Comment by Christine Coffey: In the past these were not timely…should the Medicaid be terminated if not provided by CAP agency?  Often the cap recert and the Medicaid recert annual are not the same timeframe.  How will this impact Medicaid recert? 
	
a.  If continuing need of CAP participationtreatment is established, recertify for the appropriate certification period, not to exceed 12 months; 6 months if the beneficiary has a monthly deductible.
		
b.  If there is no continuing need of CAP participationtreatment, evaluate for all other programs/categories..

SSI beneficiaries do not require a recertification of Medicaid eligibility. However, SSI beneficiaries still require a CNR to determine CAP participation.

VIIIVIII.	CHANGES IN SITUATION

A. [bookmark: _Hlk529109366][bookmark: _Hlk529109260]Hospital/Nursing Facility Stays

The local agency will receive the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status for Hospital/Nursing Facility stays.

1. Stays less than 30 Days

a. Continue CAP budgeting, and 

b. Follow procedures in MA-2360, Medicaid Deductible, for instructions on applying hospital charges to the deductible.

2. Stays 30 Days and over	Comment by Christine Coffey: See terminal messages July 2014.  There were changes to allow CAP code to exist with a LTC PMl for up to 90 days… 
	
a. Send a timely DSS-8110, Notice of Modification, Termination, or Continuation of Public Assistance, to terminate CAP services effective the first day of the month following the 31st day.	Comment by Moore, Sharon D [2]: Name may need to change based upon release date for policy.	Comment by Christine Coffey: Often CAP end date is provided to the county long after the fact..causing issues with adding/removing CAP codes, adding/removing PMLS and obtaining the correct determination.  NC FAST assumes all changes are reported timely, and most of these are after the fact.  Should the 8020/5164 be noted or referred to here? 

b. Evaluate eligibility for Medicaid by applying MA-2270, Long-Term Care Need and Budgeting.

c. Compute a patient monthly liability (PML) no earlier than the first day of the month in which the 31st day falls, subject to timely notice requirements.

d. If discharge occurs between 30 and 90 days and the beneficiary resumes CAP services, the local agency will receive the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status, and Plan of Care Summary from the CAP case management entity.

e. For stays over 90 days, a new referral must be made to the CAP Lead Agency for redetermination of CAP eligibility before CAP services can resume. 

B.	Termination of CAP Services Terminated

1. The local agency will receive the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status.

2. Re-compute the budget for the remainder of the 6 or 12-month certification period.	Comment by Christine Coffey: 12 month if fully eligible?

3. Apply spouse-for-spouse or parent-for-child financial responsibility.

4. Caseworkers are required to the send appropriate termination notices. Follow rules in section, MA-2420, Notice and Hearings Process.

a. When CAP services are terminating; send an adequate notice.	Comment by Christine Coffey: Cap to LTC in NC FAST requires timely, I think..may need to check.

b. When Medicaid will terminate; send a timely notice.

c. When CAP services and Medicaid are terminating; send a timely notice.

C.	Change in Level of Care/Acuity Level	Comment by Christine Coffey: This has not been defined and has no bearing on previous policy…perhaps definition is neede

	The local agency will receive the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status and POC Summary from the CAP case management entity when there is a change in the level of care/acuity level. 

D.	Transition from CAP/DA to CAP/CD

[bookmark: _Hlk17803117]The local agency will receive the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status, and POC Summary from the CAP case management entity  when the category transitions from CAP/DA to CAP/CD. 

E.  Transition from CAP/CD to CAP/DA 

The local agency will receive the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status and POC Summary from the CAP case management entity when the category transitions from CAP/CD to CAP/DA. 


F.  Service Plan/POC Revision

	The local agency will receive the DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status and POC Summary from the CAP case management entity when there is a Service Plan/POC Revision.

For keying instructions refer to NC FAST Job Aid: Community Alternatives Program (CAP), Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) & Innovations.

G.  County Transfer

	When a CAP beneficiary moves to another county, it does not affect CAP services. CAP coverage continues in the new county. The local agency will receive the original DHB-2193, Memorandum of CAP Waiver Enrollment Status and the Service Plan/Plan of Care from the CAP case management entity. 

[bookmark: _Hlk528068089]For keying instructions refer to NC FAST Job Aid: Completing a County Case Transfer.

IIX.	NOTICES

The caseworker must sSend the CAP case manager a copy of all notices that are sent to the applicant/beneficiary (a/b). Follow rules in section, MA-2420, Notice and Hearings Process.

X.	APPEALS

CAP Services appeals go directly to the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).

Follow MA-2420, Notice and Hearings Process for Medicaid Eligibility appeals.

For keying instructions refer to NC FAST Job Aid: Appeals	Comment by Christy Berrong: No additional comments


1


6

